16 Aug Upload objects in Dynamics NAV 2018
Uploading objects or changes in Dynamics NAV 2018 is really simple, although you need to be aware of the implications it entails and carefully follow the steps we explain below. Firstly, your partner will send you a file with a .fob extension with the changes to one or more items from Navison that need to be uploaded. To upload this file, access the CSIDE development environment.
Next, you will open your Test Data Base. From TRIANGLE, we recommend you always use a test environment for the first upload of items, since uploading items directly to a production environment is not advisable. Amongst other reasons, you may risk definitively losing data. In this article, we have already explained why, from TRIANGLE, we recommend always using a test environment. When you open Navision or through the File-Open-Data Base route, you will access the window shown below. Here you should write the name of your Test server and your Test Data Base. And finally, click on accept.
Once you have accessed your Test Data Base, you will click on File-Import.
And select the file. fob with the changes and items to upload which your partner has sent to you.
In the following window, you will indicate that you do not want to import all of the items to be able to see what is going to change the file you are uploading.
In the following window that opens, you will see the items which are going to be changed in the development screen. If, after reviewing them, you see they are the correct ones, you should click on “Replace All” and finally “Accept”.
Next, it will ask how you want to carry out the synchronisation of the table. It gives you three options:
- Now-with validation (Recommended):It applies the changes, validating the definitions of the tables to check the changes won’t cause loss of data.
- Later:It saves the validation to synchronise the outline of the table later.
- Force:It applies the changes without validation, the data that is affected will be deleted. Here, the importance of having a Test Data Base is reaffirmed, in order to be able to check that you haven’t lost data during this synchronisation.
After choosing one of the three validation options, Dynamics NAV will display a summary screen in which you can check how many items have been changed, created, or deleted.